Library and one stop shop review consultation

Read a transcript of Geoff Brown's film talking about the library and one stop shop service review consultation

Work on the review of the libraries and information service continues; we are working with city, town and parish councils and community organisations who are interested in taking over the library and/or information services (previously one stop shops)  in their local area.

Some services have already transferred to town councils including Callington Information Service and Falmouth Library and Information Service. We are in discussions with other local councils and organisations for most of the other sites.

We do not wish to reduce any library services and are working creatively with partners to find solutions in all areas to be able to maintain a level of service; however, with continued Government funding cuts, we all have to accept that Council services must change to deliver the savings.

For the few sites where we may not have interest in devolution, Cabinet have agreed to:

  • maintain stand-alone Information Services to act as reception and customer assistance at the Council’s major buildings;
  • implement a reduced staffing and self-service or micro library model and to
  • continue to explore One Public Estate opportunities in relevant areas

You can read about progress on the Library and Information Service Devolution programme in the updates below:

Update March 2017

The Communities Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) met on 14 March to consider progress on the Alternative Service Delivery of Libraries and Information Services.

Update November 2016

Cabinet met on 9 November to consider an update report on the Face to Face: Alternative Service Delivery of Libraries and Information Services. Having heard and considered the options, and the recommendations made by the Communities Policy Advisory Committe (PAC), Cabinet approved the four recommendations.

Update October 2016

Read the Library and one stop shop devolution programme update from 13 October 2016 produced for the Council's Community Policy Advisory Committee (PAC)

Update December 2015

Read the library and one stop shop programme update from 18 December

Update November 2015

Cabinet met on 4 November to consider a report on the Face to Face: Alternative Service Delivery of Libraries and One Stop Shops. Having heard and considered the options, and the recommendations made by the Communities Policy Advisory Committe (PAC), Cabinet approved the four recommendations.

Work will now begin to put the proposals into place to allow communities to shape the library and one stop shop services in their local area. There are a few locations where plans still need to be finalised and we will be looking at options for these areas and remain hopeful that solutions can be found; however we cannot rule out the risk of closure.

Read the Cabinet papers associated with the Face to Face: Alternative Service Delivery of Libraries and One Stop Shops - Item 11

Read the news release about the Cabinet decision

Update October 2015

The Communities Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) met on 27 October to consider a report on the Face to Face: Alternative Service Delivery of Libraries and One Stop Shops. Having heard and considered the options, the Communities PAC approved the three recommendations and added a fourth recommendation.

Read an update on the review of the library and one stop shop service and the PAC's recommendations to Cabinet

Update July 2015

As part of the Council’s Business Plan and Budget setting for 2015-2019 Members agreed to ‘ensure access to Library and advice services across Cornwall through new community led models of service provision whilst delivering £1.8m savings (44%) over 2015/16 and 2016/17’

Read an update on the review of the library and one stop shop service and the report that will be considered by the Communities Policy Advisory Committee (PAC) and Cabinet

Update April 2015

Cornwall Council’s Communities Policy Advisory Committee, known as the Communities PAC, met in April to discuss and consider the report on the Council's Face to Face Service and the alternative service delivery of Libraries and One Stop Shops.

Read an update on the review of the library and one stop shop service and the PAC's recommendation to Cabinet

Background

Cornwall Council, like other local authorities, has to make substantial budget savings. The Council has already had to make considerable corporate savings of £170 million; this was achieved by reducing our back office spending and becoming more efficient. Further government funding cuts of £196 million across the next four years, means we now face having to reduce the amount spent on some services.

We have to make savings of £1.8 million from the existing £4 million library and one stop shop service budget.

The Council has committed to provide a comprehensive and efficient service that is accessible to all who wish to use it and not to reduce the number of branch libraries.

To achieve the savings we need to review how the service is delivered in the future and want to work with communities, voluntary sector, town and parish councils, and other organisations to find the best solution - as a whole service or for individual library branches.

The libraries and one stop shop service, like other Council services, has already made savings through staffing levels, taking a more commercial approach, generating funding from additional income, seeking further efficiencies in support services and by working with our communities to seek to deliver more services locally.

We offered stakeholders, residents and communities the opportunity to help inform and shape the new service.

Your views

The library and one stop shop review public and stakeholder consultation is now closed.

Thank you to everyone who took part in the consultation, which ran from 2 April to 10 June 2015.

During the consultation, on the review of the library and one stop shop service, we asked for views on two models and we also welcomed business cases from anyone interested in and able to become involved in running part or the whole service; however we recognise that the final design for the future service could be one or more of the models or something else introduced through the consultation and engagement process.

More information

Find out more about our Library and Information Service